Top 10 Nigerian albums that have won album of the year award(s)

    These are the top 10 Nigerian albums that have won album of the year award(s) at the Headies award ceremony.

    The Headies Award for Album of the Year is an award presented at The Headies, a ceremony that was established in 2006 and originally called the Hip Hop World Awards, and here are the top 10 Nigerian albums that have won the album of the year award(s).

    It was first awarded to Get Squared in 2006.

    Top 10 Nigerian albums that have won album of the year award(s)
    Top 10 Nigerian albums that have won album of the year award(s)

    Top 10 Nigerian albums that have won album of the year award(s) and year

    Fireboy DML – Apollo (2020)

    On Apollo, Fireboy DML folds a diverse sonic palette into a contemporary Afropop iteration.

    Afrobeats fuse with the laid-back R&B of “New York City Girl” and the sensual melodies of “Tattoo”, and his silky voice conjures poignant emotions.

    Falz – Moral Instruction (2019)

    Moral Instruction is the fourth studio album by Nigerian rapper Falz, It was released on January 15, 2019, by Bahd Guys Entertainment.

    The album was recorded in Nigerian pidgin and samples musical recordings from Fela Kuti.

    Its production was primarily handled by Sess, with additional production from TMXO, Willis, and Chillz.

    The album features collaborations with Demmie Vee, Chillz and Sess.

    Simi – Simisola (2018)

    Simisola is the eponymous second studio album by Nigerian singer Simi, It was released on September 8, 2017, by X3M Music.

    The album is the follow-up to her debut album, Ogaju (2008), Simisola received positive reviews from music critics, who praised the creativity and versatility of Simi’s exploration of different sounds.

    Kizz Daniel – New Era (2016)

    New Era is the debut studio album of Nigerian recording artist Kiss Daniel.

    Originally scheduled to be released on 1 May 2016, the album was however released on 14 May 2016 through G-Worldwide Entertainment, the album contains hit singles “Woju”, “Laye”, “Good Times” and “Mama.

    Olamide – Street OT (2015)

    Street OT is the fourth studio album by Nigerian rapper Olamide. It was released on November 14, 2014, through YBNL Nation.

    The album is a follow up to his 2013 Baddest Guy Ever Liveth album, preceded by the singles titled “Story For The Gods” and “Goons Mi”,

    Olamide – Baddest Guy Ever Liveth (2014)

    Baddest Guy Ever Liveth (abbreviated as BGEL) is the third studio album by Nigerian hip hop recording artist Olamide.

    It was on November 7, 2013, by YBNL Nation.

    Olamide recorded the album between 2012 and 2013 and enlisted Pheelz, Buckwyla, Ketchup, Ice Prince, Pepenazi, Endia, Viktoh, B.Banks, Phyno, Pele Pele and Bez to appear as guest artists on it.

    Olamide – YBNL (2013)

    YBNL is the second studio album by Nigerian rapper Olamide, it was released on November 12, 2012, as the follow-up to his debut studio album Rapsodi (2011).

    The album features guest appearances from Kay Switch, Tiwa Savage, Dammy Krane, Davido, Kidakudz, Reminisce, Base 1

    Psquare – Invasion (2012)

    The Invasion is the fifth studio album by Nigerian duo P-Square. It was released on July 29, 2011, by Square Records.

    The album features guest appearances from Tiwa Savage, Naeto C, Waje, May D, Eva Alordiah, Muna, Akon and Rick Ross.

    2Baba – The Unstoppable International Edition (2011)

    The Unstoppable International Edition is the fourth studio album by the Nigerian R&B artist 2face Idibia, released on June 27, 2010, through his label Hypertek Entertainment.

    As the name suggests, the album is the international edition of the artist’s third and previous album The Unstoppable (see above).

    It is one of the few Nigerian albums to be successfully sold at a retail price of ₦1000.

    Wande Coal – Mushin To Mo’Hits

    Mushin To Mo’Hits (M2M) is the debut album by Nigerian singer Wande Coal.

    It was launched on April 12, 2009, under Mo’ Hits Records now Mavin Records.

    The album was produced by Don Jazzy and it featured a number of other artists including D’banj, Dr SID, D’Prince, and K-Switch.

    Follow Us On Google News [CLICK HERE] 

    For Whatsapp Updates [CLICK HERE].

    Recent Updates

    Latest Songs

    Related Stories