Gareth Southgate names England’s 55-man World Cup squad.

  • Gareth Southgate announces England 55 man squad for the World Cup.

  • The England Coach Shock Supporters With His Provisional Squad Ahead of the FIFA World Cup.

Gareth Southgate names England's 55-man World Cup squad.
Gareth Southgate names England’s 55-man World Cup squad.

In preparation for the FIFA World Cup, which will be held in Qatar, England’s head coach, Gareth Southgate, has revealed his 55-man squad.

On Tuesday, November 1, 2022, the Athletic’s official website made the provisional list available. Some of the players on Southgate’s list were expected, while others caught Three Lions supporters off guard.

Gareth Southgate is set to name his England squad for the World Cup next Thursday but Danny Welbeck and Brighton team-mate Lewis Dunk are in the initial 55-man contingent

Southgate is set to select his 26-man contingent for Qatar next Thursday – just 11 days before the Three Lions’ opening group game against Iran.

According to The Athletic, Welbeck and Dunk are included in the 55-man squad, which will be trimmed next week, as Southgate gets his side ready for the competition in the Middle East. The Brighton duo helped the Seagulls to an emphatic 4-1 victory over Chelsea on the weekend and currently sit eighth after 12 games.

Meanwhile, James Maddison, Eberechi Eze and Callum Wilson have also been named on the long list and remain outsiders to be called up in Southgate’s main squad.


According to the Daily Mail, all three players have demonstrated sufficient ability to be included in Southgate’s 55-man squad, which was submitted to FIFA last month. However, there aren’t likely to be many surprises in the composition of the 26-man Three Lions team.

Meanwhile, the fitness of Bukayo Saka, Reece James and Kyle Walker could determine whether Maddison or Eze can slot into the squad.

Here is the Full List below:

England World Cup 55-man list


Nick Pope (Newcastle United)
Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)
Dean Henderson (Nottingham Forest)
Jordan Pickford (Everton)
Fraser Forster (Tottenham)
Sam Johnstone (Crystal Palace)


Harry Maguire (Manchester United)
Kyle Walker (Manchester City)
John Stones (Manchester City)
Eric Dier (Tottenham)
Kieran Tripper (Newcastle United)
Luke Shaw (Manchester United)
Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
Ben Chilwell (Chelsea)

Conor Coady (Everton)
Fikayo Tomoro (AC Milan)
Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace)
Benjamin White (Arsenal)
Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa)
Kyle Walker-Peters (Southampton)


Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)
Declan Rice (West Ham)
Mason Mount (Chelsea)
Jude Belliingham (Borussia Dortmund)
James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)
Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City)
Conor Gallagher (Chelsea)
Emile Smith-Rowe (Arsenal)
Jesse Lingard (Nottingham Forest)
James Maddison (Leicester City)
Harvey Elliott (Liverpool)
Ruben Loftus-Cheek


Raheem Sterling (Chelsea)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
Jack Grealish (Manchester City)
Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
Phil Foden (Manchester City)
Tammy Abraham (Roma)
Jarrod Bowen (West Ham)
Ivan Toney (Brentford)
Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)
Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)
Jadon Sancho (Manchester United)

Follow Us On Google News [CLICK HERE] 

For Whatsapp Updates [CLICK HERE].

Comments are closed.

For header!